Week #53

Well hello there.

This week is awesome and here is why.
We had like a zillion exchanges for like 3 days straight.
We did an exchange with a different team of missionaries each day, it was awesome.
I got the privilege of doing exchanges with some brand new missionaries.
It is really special to help them out and to see how much courage they have.
It is really amazing to see how really your example does more than your words.

Here is a simple example.
I am on a bus and I cross the length of the bus to talk to a couple.
After I look back and watch this brand new missionary cross the bus to do the same thing to someone else.
I love that. So much courage.
I have really come to love taking public transport.
A car is like being on a deserted island. You cannot talk to anyone because you are trapped.

Second reason why this week is so amazing is because Elder Neil L. Andersen is here in our mission.
He gave the best talk ever to the missionaries.
It was just perfect.
Elder Gubbay and I were just starring at each other in awe and delight as he spoke.
He spoke about what we have been discussing for the last 3 months.
We will have the privilege of hearing him speak tomorrow again so I will wait till next week to share what he spoke about.

I had the most wonderful study of the scriptures lately.
It was very interesting. As I was reading my scriptures a completely different section of scripture came into my mind then the one I was reading at the time.
Following this inspiration I changed the chapter I was reading.
I started to read Mosiah 4

1 And now, it came to pass that when king Benjamin had made an end of speaking the words which had been delivered unto him by the angel of the Lord, that he cast his eyes round about on the multitude, and behold they had fallen to the earth, for the fear of the Lord had come upon them.

2 And they had viewed themselves in their own carnal state, even less than the dust of the earth. And they all cried aloud with one voice, saying: O have mercy, and apply the atoning blood of Christ that we may receive forgiveness of our sins, and our hearts may be purified; for we believe in Jesus Christ, the Son of God, who created heaven and earth, and all things; who shall come down among the children of men.

3 And it came to pass that after they had spoken these words the Spirit of the Lord came upon them, and they were filled with joy, having received a remission of their sins, and having peace of conscience, because of the exceeding faith which they had in Jesus Christ…

As I read this I though to myself, what was it that King Benjamin said to the people to receive such a reaction. I then decided to read the chapters before this one to see what he said to help them have the desire to apply the atonement of Jesus Christ in their life. I will let you read and discover the answer for yourselves starting in Mosiah chapter 2 all the way up to Mosiah 5 included.

https://www.lds.org/scriptures/bofm/mosiah/2?lang=eng

We also got to go visit a beautiful member family this week. There family is so wonderful. The father is a music composer which is super super cool and his kids are super cute. He served his mission in France and ended up marrying a french women. She is super kind and made lasagna, which reminded me of when mom used to always prepare that when the missionaries would come over to our house. It has always been my favorite.

Well anyways I love you loads. Keep being awesome.

Elder Ioannidis

By Robert Suranyi