Week #78

We had a pretty cool experience this week.
Elder Taua and I were knocking on doors one afternoon and he stops and says “can we pray?”. I said “of course.” We prayed together that we would find someone to teach while we were knocking on doors.
We continued for another 30 minutes or so when a nice man accepted for us to come into his home to teach him a lesson.
We asked him loads of questions to get to know him and we taught him a very simple but heartfelt lesson about the restored Gospel of Jesus Christ.
We invited him to pray at the end and he accepted to pray right away.
He started “Dear heavenly father……………” he couldn’t continue because he was crying. He was so touched by the spirit that he was unable to say anything else. It was such a cool experience. We gave him a copy of The Book of Mormon as well.

This week we were able to teach a lesson in English.
We taught a professional soccer player.
He is super cool.
He told us that when he started playing soccer he didn’t even have shoes and now he is playing in the World Cup and having tons of success at age 23.
We had a member come teach with us and the spirit was very strong.
I quite enjoyed recounting the first vision in English and I really felt the spirit as I quoted Joseph Smith’s own words on his experience when he saw God the Father and Jesus Christ.

I can still remember clearly when I received a firm testimony of this most sacred event. It was at someone’s baptismal service when I was about 12 years old. A missionary at the time was asked to give a talk. He recounted Joseph Smith’s experience and as he did so the Holy Ghost bore witness to me. I felt every fiber of my being being filled with light. I remember feeling like I didn’t even have one ounce of darkness or evilness in me in that moment. I remember the feeling of warmth that came. I remember that in my mind I had a sure confidence of the truthfulness of that event. This all happened in the space of a couple of seconds.

I have had similar experiences on rare occasions.
I remember feeling those same feelings at the Temple Youth Celebration when we were celebrating the brand new Vancouver Temple.
I remember feeling that way when singing “we are as the army of Helaman……..and we will be the Lord’s missionaries to bring the world His truth” when I was 16 years old. I knew for a surety in that moment that I not only needed to serve a mission but had a strong desire to.
I remember receiving that feeling when singing “I believe in Christ” during my youth and knowing that Jesus is the Son of God and the Saviour.

This week I decided to up my study time of the Book of Mormon. In addition to my regular study of the scriptures, I have been reading the Book of Mormon during breakfast and before I go to bed each day. I can really see the peace it brings into my life. One of my favorite things to do as I read the Book of Mormon is to mark in red every time it speaks about Jesus Christ. I can truly testify that its pages contain a powerful testimony of Jesus Christ for that is the primary purpose of the Book of Mormon, Another Testament of Jesus.

Well I love you all loads,
Read the Book of Mormon, it will seriously change your life.
Well to be more correct, it will lead you to Jesus Christ and He will change your life.

Elder Ioannidis

By Robert Suranyi