Week #95

Dearest family,

I had the most wonderful miracle for the last transfer of my mission.
We found a lady that has been prepared by angels.
We knocked on her door about a week ago and presented our message in about 3 minutes at the door. She was super interested in the Book of Mormon. We gave her a copy and than asked to fix an appointment but she said no! The rest of the night I felt guilty that I didn’t try harder to fix an appointment. I prayed for this lady that night. The next day I kept on thinking about this lady and how we didn’t fix an appointment. We were leaving the island that night to go to the mission office for transfers and we had to take the boat. Right before taking the boat we stopped to knock on some doors. I turned to my colleague and told him that we need to knock on the same lady’s door again. I told him that I knew exactly what we needed to say. So we went and knocked on her door. She said she didn’t have any time but I asked for just 1 minute. I explained that I hadn’t been able to forget her or her family, that I had been praying for her and that the message we share is the most important thing in the world to me. I told her that I needed her to give us just 30 minutes another day to share our message. She said yes right away. I felt like angels were in control because it was just so perfect. After taking the boat for transfers, my new colleague and I returned to Corsica. Our first day back on the island we were able to teach this lady. It was just a perfect lesson. She understood everything and we could see the spirit working on her as we taught. It felt so guided by angels and the spirit. At the end of the lesson it was just so perfect, we invited her to be baptized on the 26th of October, the last Saturday of my mission. She said yes. Since then, we have taught her a bunch and every time she just gets more and more excited. She came to church for the first time this week and at the end she said “This is Christ’s church”, “We need to help Him fill this place up”. She is just so incredible. It is just such a wonderful miracle and I felt like I did nothing and it was all the Lord’s doing. She just keeps on surprising us with every visit, as we see the spirit making a difference in her life.
Miracles happen. There are people being prepared by the Lord.

Another miracle is my colleague.
His name is Elder Johnson.
Check this out.
My name is Elder Ioannidis.
When you translate my name from Greek to English
it literally means Johnson.
We have the same name.
Ioan is Greek for John and Ioannidis means Son of John or Johnson.
Isn’t that super cool.

Even before he was transferred here, I felt like he was going to be my colleague. When I found out it was true, I hit my knees and thanked my Heavenly Father for sending me an angel for my last transfer of my mission.
He is really awesome. I picked him up from the airport the first day of his mission when I was an assistant. I thought he was the coolest guy ever and now I am serving with him. I am being hyper blessed at this moment.

Well I love you all loads,
Thanks for being the best family ever

Love

Elder Ioannidis

By Robert Suranyi